Elaine Chiosso Executive Director                                  

Elaine Chiosso has been Executive Director of the Haw River Assembly since 1997.  She also served as the Haw Riverkeeper from 2008 -2017. She studied at UC-Berkeley and UNC-CH and has a B.S in Science Education. She has lived near the Haw River in Chatham County, since 1974 and currently serves on the Chatham County Environmental Review Committee. She is a former member of the  NC Sedimentation Control Commission and the NC Water Infrastructure Council.  In addition to her role as Executive Director, Elaine continues to work on pollution issues as senior policy advisor.


Emily Sutton Haw Riverkeeper
Emily Sutton joined the staff of Haw River Assembly in 2016, managing citizen science projects to watchdog against sediment pollution and monitor the tributaries and main stem of the Haw River. As Riverkeeper, she is now leading the fight against pollution in the Haw River on many fronts, including emerging contaminants, Jordan Lake nutrients, and sediment pollution. Emily grew up paddling rivers in the Midwest, and moved to North Carolina to received her B.A at Appalachian State University in Sustainable Development, where she studied Agroecology, Watershed Ecology, and Outdoor Education. Emily lives in Saxapahaw, NC.

Erin Jobe Event Coordinator


Kathy Buck Office Manager                                                                                                                                                            

Cynthia Crossen Newsletter Editor


2017 Board Members

  • Ayo Wilson, Durham
  • Dr. John Bang, Cary
  • Katherine Baer, Chapel Hill
  • Chris Carter,  Saxapahaw, President
  • Anne Cassebaum, Elon,
  • Dr. Melvin Dubose, Burlington, Vice President
  • Lynn Featherstone,  Pittsboro
  • Sharon Garbutt, Pittsboro
  • Dr. Jim Hood, Greesnboro
  • Bernadette Howell, Burlington
  • Gloria White-James, Graham
  • Mac Jordan, Emeritus Member, Saxapahaw
  • Ruth Lucier, Bynum
  • Dr. Janet MacFall, Graham, Secretary
  • Dr. Christine Moreira, Oak Ridge
  • Jo Sanders, Pittsboro, Treasurer
  • John Wagner, Pittsboro